Odds to Win 2021 Super Bowl MVP – Chiefs’ Mahomes Favored, Brady Given Best Odds from Buccaneers

Patrick Mahomes throwing pass

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes warms up before the AFC championship NFL football game against the Buffalo Bills, Sunday, Jan. 24, 2021, in Kansas City, Mo. (AP Photo/Charlie Riedel)
  • Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes is the +110 favorite to be Super Bowl 56 MVP
  • Tom Brady, QB for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, is the +250 second betting choice
  • Out of 55 previous Super Bowl MVPs, 30 were QBs – read below to find our MVP betting choice

History will be made when Patrick Mahomes and the Kansas City Chiefs square off with Tom Brady and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in Super Bowl 56 on Sunday, Feb. 7th at Tampa Bay’s Raymond James Stadium.

It will be the first time in the history of the big game that the reigning Super Bowl MVP and the player who’s won the most Super Bowl MVP awards will be both playing in the game.

Mahomes was named Super Bowl MVP last season as the Chiefs defeated the San Francisco 49ers 31-20. Brady, who will be playing in his record 10th Super Bowl, has earned the MVP award in the game a record four times.

Favored since odds opened, Mahomes is +110 to win the honor during this year’s game. Brady is the second betting choice at +250.

Super Bowl 56 MVP Odds

Player (Team) Odds
Patrick Mahomes (Chiefs) +110
Tom Brady (Buccaneers) +250
Tyreek Hill (Chiefs) +900
Travis Kelce (Chiefs) +900
Tyrann Mathieu (Chiefs) +2000
Mike Evans (Buccaneers) +2500
Leonard Fournette (Buccaneers) +2500
Chris Godwin (Buccaneers) +2500
Devin White (Buccaneers) +2500
Clyde Edwards-Helaire (Chiefs) +2500
Mecole Hardman (Chiefs) +2500
Darrel Williams (Chiefs) +2500
Shaquil Barrett (Buccaneers) +3300
Sammy Watkins (Chiefs) +3300
Ronald Jones II (Buccaneers) +4000
Chris Jones (Chiefs) +4000
Frank Clark (Chiefs) +4000
Cameron Brate (Buccaneers) +5000
Antonio Brown (Buccaneers) +5000
Rob Gronkowski (Buccaneers) +5000
Scotty Miller (Buccaneers) +5000
Jason Pierre-Paul (Buccaneers) +5000
Willie Gay Jr (Chiefs) +5000
Lavonte David (Chiefs) +6600
Jordan Whitehead (Buccaneers) +6600
Antoine Winfield Jr (Buccaneers) +5000
Demarcus Robinson (Chiefs) +6600
Vita Vea (Buccaneers) +8000
Le’Veon Bell (Chiefs) +8000
Deone Bucannon (Buccaneers) +10000
Carlton Davis III (Buccaneers) +10000
Jamel Dean (Buccaneers) +10000
Sean Murphy-Bunting (Buccaneers) +10000
Ryan Succop (Buccaneers) +10000
Ndamukong Suh (Buccaneers) +10000
Harrison Butker (Chiefs) +10000
Rashad Fenton (Chiefs) +10000
Anthony Hitchens (Chiefs) +10000
Alex Okafor (Chiefs) +10000
Byron Pringle (Chiefs) +10000
Daniel Sorenson (Chiefs) +10000
Juan Thornhill (Chiefs) +10000
Charvarius Ward (Chiefs) +10000
Damien Wilson (Chiefs) +10000
Ke-Shawn Vaughn (Buccaneers) +12500
Bashuad Breeland (Chiefs) +12500
Anthony Sherman (Chiefs) +12500
Darwin Thompson (Chiefs) +12500
Mike Edwards (Chiefs) +15000
William Gholston (Buccaneers) +15000
Javon Hagan (Buccaneers) +15000
Tanner Hudson (Buccaneers) +15000
LeSean McCoy (Buccaneers) +15000
Kevin Minter (Buccaneers) +15000
Anthony Nelson (Buccaneers) +15000
Gehrig Dieter (Chiefs) +15000
Nick Keizer (Chiefs) +15000
Marcus Kemp (Chiefs) +15000
Tanoh Kpassagnon (Chiefs) +15000
Ricky Seals-Jones (Chiefs) +15000
L’Jarius Sneed (Chiefs) +15000
Deon Yelder (Chiefs) +15000
Andrew Adams (Buccaneers) +25000
Antony Auclair (Buccaneers) +25000
Ross Cockrell (Buccaneers) +25000
Cam Gill (Buccaneers) +25000
Steve McLendon (Buccaneers) +25000
Jaydon Mickens (Buccaneers) +25000
Rakeem Nunez-Roches (Buccaneers) +25000
Pat O’Connor (Buccaneers) +25000
Ryan Smith (Buccaneers) +25000
Justin Watson (Buccaneers) +25000
Bradley Pinion (Buccaneers) +50000

Odds as of Jan. 24th at DraftKings.

Through 55 Super Bowl games, 30 times the MVP has gone to a quarterback.

QB Or Not QB?

While three of the last four winners were QBs, only four of the past seven Super Bowl MVPs played the position.

The honor has twice gone to defensive players in that seven-year span.

Super Bowl MVPs 2011-20

Year Player Team Position
2020 Patrick Mahomes Chiefs QB
2019 Julian Edelman Patriots WR
2018 Nick Foles Eagles QB
2017 Tom Brady Patriots QB
2016 Von Miller Broncos LB
2015 Tom Brady Patriots QB
2014 Malcolm Smith Seahawks LB
2013 Joe Flacco Ravens QB
2012 Eli Manning Giants QB
2011 Aaron Rodgers Packers QB

Odds as of Jan. 24th at DraftKings.

Two years ago, the Super Bowl MVP was New England Patriots wide receiver Julian Edelman.

Three Times Two?

Mahomes would be only the third player to be Super Bowl MVP in successive games.

Both of the the back-to-back winners were QBs – Green Bay’s Bart Starr (Super Bowls 1-2) and Pittsburgh’s Terry Bradshaw (Super Bowls 13-14).

In Sunday’s 38-24 AFC Championship Game win over the Buffalo Bills, Mahomes completed 29 of 38 passes for 325 yards and three touchdowns. If he does that on Super Bowl Sunday, he’ll walk off with another MVP.

The Chiefs suit up two other intriguing MVP possibilities. Wide receiver Tyreek Hill scored an AFC-leading 15 TDs. Travis Kelce set a new mark for reception yards for a tight end (1,416) this season. He caught 13 balls for 118 yards and two TDS against Buffalo.

Brady Bunch

Are you really willing to bet against the GOAT at home in the biggest game of the season? Brady, 43, is defying both the odds and Father Time in 2020-21.

Brady now has won as many NFC titles as both Aaron Rodgers and Drew Brees have achieved in their careers. In his first season since leaving the Patriots, he joins Craig Morton (Dallas, Denver), Peyton Manning (Indianapolis, Denver) and Kurt Warner (Rams, Cardinals) as the only QBs to lead two different franchises to the Super Bowl.

In Sunday’s NFC Championship Game at Green Bay, Brady passed for 280 yards and three TDs. He joined Eli Manning as the only visiting QBs to win an NFC title game at Lambeau Field.

No QB had ever led his team to the Super Bowl in their own stadium until now.

If Tampa Bay wins the Super Bowl, Brady will be MVP. Beat the drum for someone other than Tom at your own peril.

Pick: Tom Brady (Buccaneers) +250.

Latest posts